top of page

Hear No Evil, See No Evil, Speak No Evil

The three wise monkeys, we all know them, Hear No Evil, Speak No Evil, See No Evil. Personally they have taught me a lot over the years, but they have become more influential as time goes on. They are something that I think everyone could take advice from especially in todays world. Evil comes is all types of shapes, sizes and forms. What makes it even more unfortunate is that it doesn't just come from an enemy, it can come from your friends or rather your associates, your boyfriend, and even your own family. Now before yall think i'm about to pull out the soapbox and stand up to make a speech about the root of all evil, trust me I'm not. However I do think this, for lack of a better word, sucks. Like when did we get to the point that anyone trying to do something to better themselves is taken as a joke, or just taken from you period. They say knowledge is supposed to be power and people are taking that to heart. Lately as soon as people learn of an unique idea it becomes fair game. The same person you trusted with your brilliance all of a sudden are stepping on your back to elevate themselves. Which is just a crying shame. One thing that has always stuck with me came from my friend Jakera, she told me that “the good is worth nothing without the bad”. Now I see how true this is because if all dreams were easily obtained they wouldn't be worth very much. Jakera has always been and inspiration to me I've know her since I was in middle school. To me she was always stunning. She motivated me when I still didn't know what I wanted to do. She made me feel confident and beautiful and this was back in the days when I didn't know a thing about weave or makeup so yall trust and believe me when I say making me feel beautiful and confident was no easy task. She is one of those rare friends that even if you don't talk to them everyday you could call in tears because some asshole was an asshole and she'd be ready to gas up her car and chop them down. And I'd be more then happy to do the same for her. If you haven't figured it out yet this weeks post is dedicated to the lovely lady Miss Jakera. She is an advocate for the arts, like myself, and fashion goddess. One day she will design my engagement and reception dress, even if she didn't know that. One of the things that has always kept me fascinated with her is that she seems fearless in everything that she does. She is a firm supporter of Beyonce and she blogs about things...sometimes. Visit her blog at www.justcallmekera.com! If you want to learn more on her read the interview below. See you next week ladies!

Photography: Sugar Snaps Studios

Model: Susie Sugar

Contact: sugarsnaps.studios@gmail.com

Hair by: TeQuoria Parker, High Point NC

Contact- womanbusiness@yahoo.com

1) Jakera, what inspires you when it comes to Fashion?

Everything inspires me, art, nature, love, war. I would say my biggest inspiration is music and women. When I'm thinking of a sketch or creative concept I always tend to cater to women and what will speak to and for women. To me Music and Fashion go hand and hand. They both evoke emotion and can be interpreted in many different ways. I will put my headphones on and blast a song over and over until I've finished a sketch.

2)Do you have style that you prefer?

My personal style varies. It really depends on how I feel In the moment. I always try to showcase different sides of my personality because girlllll there's a lot of voices In my head (laughs)

3) What is the name of your future clothing line and what kind of style clothing line?

I definitely plan to have a clothing line. I've tried to come up with names, but nothing really sticks. I'm thinking it'll just be my first and middle name (Jakera Monet). I don't think I will have a ready to wear clothing line. I'm more of a high fashion, designer. I definitely want to design dresses that will be worn at the Oscars. AND I will design one of Beyonce's stage costumes before I die. That is my ultimate goal. I feel like I owe it to her (laughs) it's my way of saying thank you.

3.5) Do you plan to target just females or do you eventually plan to venture into males or children clothing as well?

I think at this point I'm just focused on women. That's what feels most natural and freeing as a designer. I've always been interested in menswear though. And I love mixing masculinity with femininity, but I don't know, boys are boring (laughs). I'm not here for them the girls need me (laughs)

4) What are your plans for the future?

My future. How far in? because there's alot. Overall.. I plan to have one of the most powerful empires known to man. I don't just plan to be a designer or work in fashion. I have other things I want to explore. I want all of my gifts and talents to eventually create my legacy. I want to be amongst the legends and the pioneers. When people think about me or say my name, I want them to feel inspired to do more and be more.

5) When did you begin to get into fashion?

I think I fell completely in love with fashion and decided to design when I was about 14, 15. I had just moved back to NYC with my mom. There was just so much culture around me. Going back at that age was imperative. I don't think NYC would have been what it was if I had gone back sooner or later.


Recent Posts  
bottom of page