top of page

Exposure

Exposure by one definition is “The revelation of an identity or fact, especially one that is concealed or likely to arouse disapproval.” After reading this definition I realized how much this generation is consumed with exposure. Today’s society is completely wrapped up in a newfound desire to broadcast and expose every piece and act of his or her life. The goal for many is to be famous and rich or at least they want to appear this way on social media so others will be envious of their lifestyle. In my opinion that is the only accomplishment of many social networking websites and apps. While the original intention was to bring people closer and make it easier to be more social it’s somehow managed to do nothing but create the desire of approval from others. This desire has caused many people to change who they are perceived whether it’s in looks or finances. Doing this has become all too easy because on the Internet you can be whomever you want. This becomes dangerous when people allow their Internet life to get inside their head. They feel invincible because they have thousands of followers on Instagram forgetting that Instagram isn’t their reality. Now while it is possible for you to have and create benefits from social networks in your actual reality it takes the right kind of exposure. So how do you get exposure? When it comes to females there is only one thing you need to have exposure on social media. Nothing. If you want to be a famous female Instagram star all you need to do is wear nothing. The more you expose the more exposure you receive which in reality is very disappointing. This generation has managed to take everything that could be beautiful and meaningful and made it into a hideous display of insecurity. When did showing your breast and shaking your ass in a video make you Gorgeous? When did it become acceptable to take a picture half naked just to appease to the social agendas standard by feeding into the desire of a person you’ve never met so they will take two seconds to double tap a picture? What is happening that now 11 year olds are discussing threesomes and bisexuality when they haven’t even hit puberty? Exposure in social media is being tainted by the lack of self worth and respect that was once around before everyone felt the need to be praised and gratified with a number of likes their latest selfies has in an hour. Now before yall start I am aware that I am guilty of exposing myself in a few pictures on my Instagram. I have done lingerie shoots and posted a few thirst trap worthy selfies on my page. I am human and I admit that sometimes I do fall for the hype. However I do believe that there is a difference between taking a selfies laying in the bed when it’s compared to the naked girl that’s bent over in a bathroom mirror. Those are definitely two different levels of thottie thirst trap behavior. I often say that it’s not always about what you do, but how you do it. For instance we have all had those nights where you just want to have fun so you bust out your best dressy booty shorts and you throw that ass in a circle all night. Personally I see no problem with that. However, if you are that girl throwing that ass in the club every weekend, you might want to do better BooBoo. While twerking all night is not the ideal way to get exposure, at least not if you want to be known as a lady there are opportunities in the club. Those opportunities only work if you do it the right way. Dress for the party, but dress as a lady. Put on a nice dress that doesn’t cut down to your navel and end at the cut of your ass cheeks. If you do then you may actually meet a few people that aren’t just trying to find out what that mouth do. Like I said before it’s not always what you do, but how you do it. Beyoncé just wore a sheer dress that covered the necessary parts in jewels and looked stunning as well as classy even though she was technically have dressed. She pulled this off not just because she’s Queen Bey, but also because she doesn’t represent herself in a sexual way. I have always been a fan of being sexual without it being an obvious attempt. This is why I decided to challenge myself to try and accomplish a topless shoot without the entire message being that I was topless. I did two shoots in two different locations and different wardrobes, but both were topless. It was a challenge for me because I am still adjusting to life in front of the camera and to do it topless was even more nerve wrecking. I have done a nude shot of myself before, but I didn’t mind because I was taking the pictures myself in the comfort of my own home. My first shoot I did with a friend and fellow photographer Kenneth of Kreative Kulture , Greensboro, NC. It was a Rihanna inspired shoot with jean shorts and nothing else. I loved the pictures the day I took them and I was a fan for about three days, but then the honeymoon period ended. The pictures weren’t bad, but I felt like something was missing. They weren’t accomplishing my goal of being more then just a topless shoot so I did another shoot. My second topless shoot was with my best friend Manny of YsoProductionz, Columbia, SC. You can check out both the shoots below and let me know what you think. Stay lovely ladies and talk to you next time.

Photographer : Manny Carlton | YsoProductionz

Model : Antonnia Giggetts

Photographer: Kenneth Lemar| Kreative Kulture

Model: Antonnia Giggetts


Recent Posts  
bottom of page